Crafting with Little Man

I love doing crafts, so I have been impatiently waiting for Jack to be able to join me. So far, he just wants to eat the crayons. I bought him a Crayola marker that only works on special paper. He seemed to enjoy that for a couple minutes, but had even more fun ripping up the paper regardless of the masking tape I used to stick it to the table.

image

image

Either way, I know he’s still using his creativity and analyzing what’s in front of him with all 5 senses.

I found a site with some great toddler craft ideas! The site doesn’t seem to currently be working, but I believe it was called Wildflower Ramblings. It had a good list of crafts for 1 year olds including one we did to make a present for my mother’s birthday. I used clear contact paper and stuck it to the table with the sticky side facing up. I gave Jack a pile of different colored pieces of ribbon that I had cut in about 1 inch lengths. We also used some fabric scrapbook flowers. I let him stick them to the contact paper. When he was done, I added a paper heart and sealed it with a second sheet of contact paper. An iron helped to make an even better seal. I trimmed the excess and wrote a note on it with a sharpie. It was his first craft present!

image

This was a great project for his age. I was surprised he did not try to eat any of the ribbons. He spent longer working on it than I expected. He would pick up a ribbon, examine it, wave it around, stick it on the contact paper, and peel it off to do it all over again. I love that we can do it again using different colored ribbons or other materials to stick on. Even better, there was no mess to wipe up!

Another activity we tried from that website was playing with pompoms and a muffin tin. He did put them in his mouth a couple times but spit them back out. I guess they didn’t taste very good.

image

image

He liked dumping the pompoms out or taking them out one by one. He’s not as interested in putting things inside other things yet, only dumping out things and taking things apart. He’ll put a couple megablocks together but would rather take them all apart. This will be a good activity for us to keep doing together so he can work on that skill and, later on, sorting as well. For both projects, I pointed out the colors of the ribbons and the pompoms.

I’m really enjoying watching him closely examine everything and looking forward to the times when we can be drawing together side by side. For now, his serious expression as he holds up a pompom to look at closer is the greatest thing I could want to see.

4 thoughts on “Crafting with Little Man

  1. Sara

    Agh! He’s too much, I love it! I also like the great craft ideas and as soon as we have the money I will be going to get craft stuff!

  2. I cut a piece of cardboard that was a little smaller than the paper I was using to color/paint and then tape it down to that. The edges fold around the sides and tape it down on the back. This seemed to really work well for my youngest. Just a suggestion that may work for you. Crafting time has become much more enjoyable for everyone since doing this.

Leave a Reply

