On a Knitting Roll

I’ve been really getting into knitting lately after taking a break from it for a while. I made myself a pair of fingerless gloves (link to pattern) in a beautiful teal color (Caron Simply Soft in Pagoda)! It took some time because, after almost completing the first glove, I realized they were huge and restarted. Here is the enormous first attempt:

 

I have rather slim hands though, so I do not fault the pattern. I started over and cast on 36 stitches instead of 44. I reduced the pattern by 4 stitches at the beginning and end of each round. I might have even been able to reduce it by another 4 stitches, but I am happy with my results.

I was on such a roll knitting in the round that I started another pair right away in a different green yarn (Red Heart in Medium Thyme). I used the same basic pattern but switched out the cable for a moss stitch pattern on the backs of the gloves. This pair came out slightly bigger than the previous pair, perhaps due to both the yarn and the moss stitch pattern.

16711510_10103708227000219_7785017466041839310_n

Now I am ready to start another knitting project. I had become used to knitting at the end of the day once the toddler had gone to bed. I bought some yarn yesterday to start a pair of socks, but alas I don’t have the right size needles. That will be remedied soon! Until then, I have plenty of other projects (and a 2 year old) to occupy my time.

 

One thought on “On a Knitting Roll

Leave a Reply

